Are angels going to be the next big thing? Branded by Keary Taylor

Branded, Keary Taylor“Jessica’s had the nightmares for as long as she can remember. Nightmares of being judged for people who have died, of being branded by the angels. Her friends and family think she’s a crazy because of it all. Yet she carries the mark of the condemned, seared into the back of her neck, and hides it and herself away from the world. But when two men she can’t ignore enter her life everything changes, including the nightmares. The two of them couldn’t be more different. She will do anything to be with one of them. Even tell him the truth about angels, why she never sleeps, and the scar on the back of her neck. But one of the two has set events into motion what will pull her toward her own judgment and turn her into the object of her greatest fear.” –excerpt from Goodreads.com

 

Hello Lovelies!

 

Sorry for the extremely large gap between my last post and this one. All of my professors decided to collaborate and dump all of their classwork upon me simultaneously…and I may or may not have started to watch the amazingness that is Supernatural on Netflix (45 episodes in and I think I’m in love). My recent increase in busyness has not halted my reading schedule, so I have a couple of reviews in the works.

 

I wish I could rave about all the wonderfulness of Branded or rant on all of its flaws, but honestly, I am unable to do either. This novel wasn’t my favorite or the worst ever written, it was simply something to read in order to pass time. While I never fell head-over-heels for it, I still found it enjoyable. Who doesn’t enjoy reading about two extremely hot guys, one obviously representing good and the other evil, vying for the affections of the same girl? Throw in the fact that one of them may or may not be the leader of the dark angels and things get a bit more interesting.

 

I don’t stumble across many books featuring angels, so I appreciated the change in topic. While intriguing in plot line, Branded seriously lacks action. Most of the book is Jessica’s inner-monologue, which I found interesting but not very exciting. This is not Jason Bourne meets angels, so don’t read it if you’re looking for fast, furious, and thrilling. After a long day of class and work, I like to curl up with a book that allows me to be mindless. Branded allowed me to do just that. Sometimes simplicity can be the most valuable quality of a novel.

 

Will I read the other books in this series? The likelihood of me doing that is quite slim. Branded would be great to grab and read during the really long, dull car ride you’re taking to Grandma’s house or while sun tanning to provide a little entertainment and give the mind something to muse on.

 

If you would like me to review the other books in this series, have suggestions for book reviews, or have any other questions, please either comment below or email me at whimsicalwhit@gmail.com

– Whimsical Whit

 

 

Please share your thoughts

